Library Resources for Genealogy



The following resources are easily found in the library's on-line catalog by doing a subject search using the word genealogy. The result is at least 14 different headings that are divided by format (ex. dictionary, bibliography, handbook, etc.). The following are examples of the various resources. The internet has many others available. For advanced genealogical research, I would suggest using Internet Resources for Genealogy.
| Encyclopedias and Dictionaries | Bibliographies and Indexes | Guides and General Works | Special Collections |

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Ancestry's Concise Genealogical Dictionary. - 1989
    R 929.1 H242a

  • Encyclopedia of German American Genealogical Research .- 1976
    R 929.373 Sm53e

  • Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups - 1980
    R 973.04 H261a -- Ask at Reference Desk.

  • Bibliographies and Indexes

  • Family History: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. 1971
    R 016.016929 B464f

  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index. - 8 volumes 1981-1995
    R 920. B52i2s
    A consolidated index to more than 450,000 biographical sketches in over 70 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

  • Gudies and General Works

  • Guide to Genealogical Records in the National Archives.
    929.373 C682G

  • A Guide to the Genealogy/Local History Section of the State Library of Pennsylvania. - 1986
    Document Collection - PE 136.26946g

  • Burke's Royal Families of the World - 1977-
    R 929.709 Bb917u

  • Finding Your Roots: How Every American Can Trace His Ancestors at Home and Abroad 1977.
    929.1028 W527f

  • Special Collections


    Located on the third floor of the library, Special Collections has available many items that would be beneificial to anyone researching residents of Pennsylvania.

  • Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research in Pennsylvania, 1958.
    929.3 H671
  • Pennsylvania Line: A Research Guide to Pennsylvania Genealogy and Local History.
    929.3748 P3844e3
  • Genealogies of Pennsylvania Families, 1982.
    929.2 G286e
    This is a three volume set that contains family history articles which have been excerpted from the Pennsylvania Genealogy Magazine published from 1895 through 1980.
  • Manuscript Census Information on the Heads of Households in Pennsylvania -
    The Indexes are kept in Special Collections for Census years 1790 through 1850. The 1860 index is in the serials department. From 1870 to 1920 census information is available on microfilm. There are no indexes for these years.

  • | Library | FAQs | Voyager Catalog | IAC Databases | | | PA SSHE |
    URL=http://libs0400.acadlib.iup.edu/collections/guides/subjects/genealogy_lib.html
    Content provided by Susan Drummond. HTML conversion and editing by Web Master.
    Last modified: 1/31/97.
    Comments on this site and its contents are welcome; contact our Page Designer, or our Webmaster.