Indexes & Databases
Alphabetical Listing
Go To : Databases Listed By Subject
Connect to | Online Catalogs of nearby libraries | SearchBank |
Jump down to: | Reciprocal Borrowing | Important Notes on Connections | Citing Electronic Sources |
| New! | Music Index Online (see listing below) |
- Academic Search Elite
- -- provides full text for over 1,230 journals and indexing/abstracting of over 3,000 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and more. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
- Academic Universe
- -- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
- Access UN
- -- premier index to UN documentation for academic libraries, law school libraries, and government information centers with more than 1,000 full text documents and 16,000 citations. Interface: Infoweb. Coverage: 1996-present.
- ACS Web
- -- online collection of over 30 American Chemical Society Journals and Magazines in full text (HTML or PDF). Interface: Web. Coverage: 1966-present.
- America: History & Life
- America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
- Anthropological Index
- One of the major indexes for Social and Cultural Anthropology. It also covers physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Based on the collection of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Museum of Mankind Library, it indexes over 700 journals worldwide. Period Covered : Vols 22-32 - approximately last 10 years.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
- -- indexes and abstracts articles in more than 410 English-language periodicals published in the US and elsewhere. Coverage includes trade and industrial publications, directories, conference proceedings, and special issues such as buyers' guides. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1983-present.
- Art Abstracts
- -- indexes and abstracts journals from more than 313 periodicals worldwide, as well as yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1984-present.
- Art Bibliographies Modern
- --
covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Interface: ABC-CLIO. Coverage: 1974 - Present.
- Biological Abstracts
- -- leading indexing and abstracting reference source for life sciences information covering journal literature published in over 70 countries. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1998-present.
-
Biological Sciences
- An interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents. Interface: CSA Coverage: 1982-present.
-
Biology Digest
- Biology Digest is a compliation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an audience at the high school or undergraduate level. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research. Interface: CSA. Coverage: 1989-present
- Britannica.com
- -- expanded version of the paper Encyclopedia Britannica which includes a dictionary, as well as links to related topics and Web sites embedded in articles. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
- Business & Company ASAP
- -- Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as information on Finance, Trade, New Technologies, Trends and more. Interface: SearchBank
- Business Source Premier
- -- provides full text for over 1,320 scholarly business journals and indexing/abstracting of over 2,000 journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
-
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
- Through its Internet Database Service (IDS), provides multiple databases in the fields of biological and medical sciences, as well as related links to web sites through CSA's Web Resources Database. See also Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference Papers Index, Medline, Plant Science and Toxline. Interface: CSA.
- CARL Uncover
- -- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is available to IUP students, faculty, and staff. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1988-present.
- CenStats
- -- a site providing easy access to many of the most popular statistical databases maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau-- one of the federal government's largest producers of statistical data. Made available through the Federal Depository Library Program. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
- CINAHL
- -- database designed specifically to meet the informational needs of nurses and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1982-present.
- Clinical Reference Systems
- -- provides over 7,000 reports, in every-day language, describing symptoms, treatments, risks and after-effects of a vast array of medical topics and conditions. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: Current.
- College Source Online
- -- features over 12,100 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page
format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools.
Note: restricted to on-campus users.
-
Conference Papers Index
- An index providing citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, whild older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts,
proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Interface: CSA Coverage: 1982-present.
- Current Biography
- -- full-text of biographies and obituaries on the more than 15,000 people that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. The articles are supplemented with recent citations from Biography Index. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1940-present.
- Davis Bacon Wage Determination
- --The Davis Bacon Wage Determination Database contains wage determinations
made by the U.S. Department of Labor under the mandate of the Davis-Bacon
Act and related legislation. The Department determines prevailing wage rates
for construction-related occupations in most counties in the United States.
All Federal Government construction contracts and most contracts for
federally assisted construction over $2,000 must contain Davis-Bacon wage
determinations. For in-library use only. Please ask reference librarian to
log you on!
- Dissertation Abstracts International
- -- comprehensive source of dissertation information, which includes Comprehensive Dissertation Index, Dissertation Abstract International (sections A, B, and C), Masters Abstracts International, and American Doctoral Dissertation Abstracts. Interface: FirstSearch. Coverage: 1861- present (abstracts from 1980-present).
- EBSCOhost
- -- EBSCO Information Services provides multiple databases from EBSCO Publishing via EBSCOhost. Databases include Academic Search , Business Source Premier, Newspaper Source, Health Source Plus, Comprehensive Medline, Clinical Reference Systems, USP DI, The Serials Directory and EBSCO Online Citations. See these titles for individual descriptions.
- Education Abstracts
- -- indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from more than 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the US and elsewhere as well as English-language books published since 1995. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1994-present (full-text from 1996-present).
- Enviromental Knowledgebase
- -- is the online version of Enviromental Periodicals Bibliography produced and published by the International Academy at Santa Barbara.
- ERIC
- -- a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers (most available on microfiche and require only the ED number to view). Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine local availability. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1966-present.
- Essay and General Literature Index
- -- cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the US, Great Britain, and Canada. Focus is on the humanities and social sciences. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1985-present.
- Expanded Academic Index
- -- From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!
Interface: SearchBank
- GeoRef
- -- American Geological Institute's database containing over 1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. It is equivalent to Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1785-present.
- Government Catalog
- -- Most comprehensive catalog index to U.S. Federal government publications. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1976-present.
- GPO Access
- -- GPO Access. Government Printing Office's One Stop Source for Official
Government Information
- Health Reference Center
- -- Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Interface: SearchBank
- Health Source Plus
- -- provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over 1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. This database is updated daily. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
- Historical Abstracts
- -- A reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Contains over half a million entries with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the former Yugoslavia, and much more.
- InfoTrac
- -- also refered to as "SearchBank", includes Expanded Academic Index, Business & Companay ASAP, and Health Reference Center Dtabases.
- JSTOR
- -- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.
- Lexis-Nexis / Academic Universe
- -- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
- Marcive WebDocs
- -- database corresponding to the printed Monthly Catalog which contains approximately 50 percent of the published government documents (others being classified or for in-house use only). Citations from the annual Periodicals Supplement and the US Congressional Serial Set Supplement are also included. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1976-present.
- Medline (Comprehensive Medline)
- -- National Library of Medicine's database which combines the paper indexes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1966-present.
-
Medline (from CSA)
- -- National Library of Medicine's database which combines the paper indexes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature. Interface: CSA.
- MedScape
- -- For health professionals and interested consumers, features peer-reviewed articles, "zoomable" color graphics, self-assessment features, medical news, Medline Reviews, and annotated links to Internet resources. Interface: Web.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- -- database produced by the Buros Institute containing full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: Equivalent to paper editions.
- MLA Bibliography
- -- index produced by the Modern Language Association consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. Also covered are relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
- Music Index Online
- -- covers more than 640 international music periodicals; includes musicological and organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Coverage: 1979-present.
Note: restricted to on-campus users.
- NCJRS
- -- database of the US Department of Justice, abstracting more than 145,000 criminal justice publications. Literature covered includes US federal, state, and local governments' documents, books, journals, unpublished research reports, and program descriptions and evaluations. Many of the documents are available in the Library on microfiche. Interface: CD-ROM. Coverage: 1970s-present.
- Newsbank Newsfile
- -- a comprehensive, full text news resource consisting of more than 500 regional, national, and international newspaper and newswire sources. Interface: Infoweb. Coverage: 1991-present.
- Newspaper Source Plus
- -- provides selected full text articles from 143 US and international newspapers. This database is updated daily. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1990-present.
- Project MUSE
- -- provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
-
Plant Science
- Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental Biology. It is the online equivalent to Current
Advances in Plant Science. Interface: CSA. Coverage: 1994-present.
- PsycInfo
- -- American Psychological Association database containing summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines. It covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1887-present (1987-present for chapter and book coverage).
- PubMed
- -- PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It has been developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web sites of participating publishers. Interface: Web
- PubScience
- -- A service developed by the Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to facilitate searching and accessing peer reviewed journal literature in the physical sciences and other energy-related disciplines. Interface: Web.
- SearchBank
- -- includes Expanded Academic Index, Business & Company ASAP, and Health Reference Center databases. Interface: SearchBank
- Serials Directory
- -- provides up-to-date bibliographic information and pricing for over 155,000 US and international periodicals. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: Current.
- The Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database
- -- The Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database (SCA) contains unsigned
copies of the latest wage determinations developed by the U.S. Department of
Labor (USDOL). These wage determinations, issued by the Wage and Hour
Division in response to specific notices filed, set the minimum wage on
federally funded service contracts. For in-library use only! Please ask
reference librarian to log you on!
- Sociological Abstracts
- -- databases covering sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations, abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations. It covers approximately 2500 journals in 30 languages from 55 countries. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
- STAT-USA
- -- site providing access to current trade-related information produced by the many agencies of the federal government active in promoting U.S. exports. Made available courtesy of the Federal Depository Library Program. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
- Statistical Universe
- -- world's most comprehensive access to statistical information, allowing users to search summaries of statistical publications then link to the full text of selected publications on Statistical Universe or government Web sites. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
Note: restricted to on-campus users.
-
Toxline
- Toxline on this service offers rapid acceess to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine,
information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it si a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year. Interface: CSA. Coverage: last five years plus current year.
- USP DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient
- -- provides patient-oriented drug information in lay language such as proper use of medications, precautions, and side effects. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: Current.
- WebMedLit
- -- WebMedLit is a web-based alert service which provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from premier medical websites and medical journals. Provided by SilverPlatter. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1999-present
- WorldCat
- -- OCLC's Online Union Catalog, which includes all records cataloged by the OCLC member libraries. Included are records for materials in many formats including books, journals, maps, newspaper, and manuscripts, in over 400 languages. Interface: FirstSearch. Coverage: some materials are as old as 1000 B.C., through the present. Updated daily.
Having Trouble Logging In? Click Here
Also, check Patron Validation
Authentication for most databases above is not required if you are a participant in the IUP/Stargate Agreement package.
Click on the link to find out more.
Reciprocal Borrowing through the Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortiam is now available on a trial basis. This arrangement allows authorized user access to multiple library catalogs; items not available from IUP Libraries can be requested online from participating libraries. Click HERE to begin a session, and enter your I-CARD number when requested.
NOTES: Many databases linked above require a Java-enabled browser such as Netscape 3.1 or above or Internet Explorer 4.0, with "Cookies" enabled. You may choose to use a non-Java version of WebSPIRS which requires your library ID (I-Card) number. Also, off-campus users with ISPs other than Stargate may be asked for their library ID (I-Card) number.
Offsite access via independent internet service provider to EBSCOhost and Britannica
Online
using the their library ID (I-Card) Number is now implemented. Simply enter the number from your card when prompted to do so.
How to Cite These Sources:
- in APA style.
- In MLA Style.
|
Library Main Menu
| Catalog
| Databases
| Internet
| IUP
|
| Academic Affairs
| SSHE
|
URL=http://libs0400.acadlib.iup.edu/databases/databases.html Filename: databases.html