Notes
Slide Show
Outline
1

A Virtual Tour of IUP Libraries
2
Welcome to Stapleton Library
  • IUP libraries are made up of the Stapleton/Stabley Complex, the Music Library, and  branch campus libraries in Northpointe and Punxsutawney.


  • Stapleton Library is  located in the middle of the Oak Grove  between Sutton Hall and Fisher Auditorium. Completed in 1981, it updated the pre-existing Stabley Library. Together they make up the main library facility for Indiana University of Pennsylvania.
  • The Stapleton/Stabley complex occupies three floors, and holds nearly a half a million books,  thousands of tangible  periodicals,  a computer lab, and over 70 of public Internet terminals that provide access to specially selected online electronic research databases and journals. With extensive information materials,  study space, computers, and Internet access,  technical and professional research advice, the library is an excellent place for students to know and use.
3
First Floor
4
Circulation/Reserve/ Interlibrary Loan Desk
  • Directly to your left as you enter Stapleton Library is the Circulation/Reserve/ Interlibrary Loan desk.
  • Here you can check out, renew, and return books from the regular collection, interlibrary loan materials, and reserve items. and  borrow laptops for in-library use.
  • Material may be checked out using your I-Card, and renewed twice. You can renew our materials in person, by phone at 724-357-2340, or online through the "PATRON" function in PILOT our online catalog.
  • Materials may be returned directly to Circulation Desk or to the after-hours Book Drop outside the Library’s front entrance .
  • Interlibrary Loan requests for books and journals must be placed online through ILLIAD.  Access to reserve items  is also available over the WWW.
5
Reference Desk
  • Across from the Circulation Desk is the Reference Desk, the  Library's primary service point for assistance and information. The Reference staff welcomes informational questions of all kinds, and will help you locate and use library materials and online resources. Reference librarians staff a central reference desk most hours the library is open.
  • Contact us:
    • by phone: 724-357-3006
    • Virtual Reference
      • Chat
      • E-mail a question
    • Request a Research Consultation: Make an appointment to meet with a librarian to help begin or continue your research.

6
Reference Area
  • The Reference area contains the reference books stacks, print indexes, internet terminals for online research, and a printing stations.


  • Printing is available for all computers in the library and can be paid for with the    I-Card.
7
Government Information
  • Adjacent to the Reference Area is a separate collection of government publications. Stapleton Library has been a depository library for federal and Pennsylvania state government publications for nearly four decades.



  • Government publications are also available in other parts of the library in microform, cd-rom and DVD and over the Internet  through PILOT our online catalog, links on our government information page , or through search engines such as Firstgov.
8
Java City Coffee Kiosk
  • For the convenience of our users, a Java City Coffee Kiosk is located on the first floor of the library offering coffee, tea, cool drinks and food items.
9
Lounge Area and Browsing Collection
  • Immediately adjacent to the coffee   bar is a lounge area and browsing collection.
10
Computer Lab
  • A computer lab with 29 work stations, printers, scanners and specialized software is available all hours the library is open and staffed with lab assistants.
11
Media Services
  • The Media Services Department, located on the second floor of Stabley library across the bridge.  It provides audiovisual equipment for academic programs and campus events, graphic arts & production services for print and electronic media, and assistance in creating visual presentations.


  • More information on their services is available from their web page.
12
Instructional Design Center
  • IDC is a university level office which reports to the Dean of Libraries and is housed on the second floor of Stabley Library.  Its mission is to assist faculty in designing, implementing, and evaluating learning activities that incorporate information technology as a means of promoting active and collaborative learning strategies and other pedagogical innovations. For more information on their work or on WebCT visit their website.
13
Ground Floor
14
Serials/Periodicals
  • Access to thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly journals in paper and microfilm—bound and unbound is available through the library.
  • All of our E-journals along with all of our paper and microform journals can be found in Pilot by doing a journal title search.


  • E-journals also available through our e-journals page
15
Microform
  • Some materials are only available in microform.


  • These materials will be retrieved for you by serials desk assistance at your request.


  • Machines to read and copy them are available.
16
Printing and Cash to Card Machines
  • A printing area with a variety of machines is located in the serials area.


  • Use your I-card to operate printers.


  • A cash to card machine is conveniently located near the printers.
17
Open Stacks
  • Popular magazines from the past and present are available in the open stacks area.


  • They are arranged alphabetically by title.


  • f you need assistance in locating a title, ask at the desk.
18
Current Stacks
  • Many current periodicals are shelved in the current stacks area.
  • Users can request current issues at service desk.
19
Back Stacks
  • Many older periodicals are bound and located in the back stacks area and arranged by journal title and year.


  • If you  need assistance finding materials in the back stacks, ask at the desk.
20
Second Floor
21
2nd Floor Book Stacks
  • The second floor of Stapleton Library houses circulating books classified in the Library of Congress Classification System under A-L.
  • Click here for a guide to Finding Books with  Library of Congress Classification Numbers.
22
Media Circulation
  • Has moved in next to Circulation on the ground floor.
  • Its collections include useful non-book materials such as videotapes, CDs, DVDs, maps, books on tape, photographs and posters and all machinery necessary to view and use such materials.


  • Curriculum materials, including a large selection of children’s books and school text books remain on second floor.


23
Third Floor
24
Special Collections
  • Special Collections houses the Pennsylvania Collection, the University's Rare Book Collection, and the University Archives.


  • Special collections supplements and supports the research of faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as private scholars, by maintaining a Manuscript Collection.


  • Contact information, an extensive collection of photographs documenting university history and finding aids to its manuscript collections are available from their web page
25
3rd Floor Book Stacks
  • The third floor houses the remainder of the circulating book collection. Here you can find books under Library of Congress Classification numbers P-Z, Dewey Books, Dissertations, and oversized books.
  • Click here for a guide to Finding Books with  Library of Congress Classification Numbers.
  • Click here for a guide to Finding Books Under the Dewey Decimal Call Numbers System.





26
Group Work Rooms
  • Rooms for group work are available on the second, third and ground floors.


  • They cannot be reserved but are available on a first come, first serve basis.
27

Visit the Library’s Web Page libs0400.acadlib.iup.edu
28
Thanks for Visiting IUP Libraries!