Indexes & Databases
Alphabetical Listing
There is currently a problem with
our Internet connectivity through the Shippensburg Hub. It affects PILOT
and our database access.
Please use this link to access
the EBSCOhost databases until the problem is resolved.
http://search.ebscohost.com
Note: this link will only work On
Campus or with the VPN!
(9-6-2007 4:00pm)
Not sure
which database to use?
Connect to: | SearchBank
| EBSCOhost |
WebSpirs | Academic
Universe |
Jump down to: | Books
not in IUP Libraries | Remote
User | Citing
Electronic Sources |
Having Trouble Logging In? | Patron
Validation | Citation
Guide | Online
Catalogs of nearby libraries |
- Academic
Search Premier
--provides full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications
covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities,
education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts
& literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. EBSCOhost.
- Academic
Universe
-- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your
specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
- ACS Web
-- online collection of over 30 American Chemical Society
Journals and Magazines in full text (HTML or PDF).
- America:
History & Life
--a complete bibliographic reference to the history of
the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage
includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local
history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the
social sciences and humanities. The database also includes citations to
abstracts of dissertations published in these areas.
- Anthropological
Index
--one of the major indexes for Social and Cultural
Anthropology. It also covers physical anthropology, archaeology and
linguistics. Based on the collection of the Royal Anthropological
Institute's Museum of Mankind Library, it indexes over 700 journals
worldwide. Period Covered : Vo. 22-32 - approximately last 10 years.
- Applied
Science & Technology Abstracts
-- indexes and abstracts articles in more than 410
English-language periodicals published in the US and elsewhere. Coverage
includes trade and industrial publications, directories, conference
proceedings, and special issues such as buyers' guides. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- Art
Abstracts
-- indexes and abstracts journals from more than 313
periodicals worldwide, as well as yearbooks, museum bulletins, and
reproductions. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- AskJake -
jointly administered knowledge environment
-- content lists of journal titles in 195 databases
- Biological
Abstracts
-- leading indexing and abstracting reference source for
life sciences information covering journal literature published in over 70
countries. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1998-present.
- Biological
Sciences
--an interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and
citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology
and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides
access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference
proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.
Interface: CSA Coverage: 1982-present.
- Biology
Digest
--abstracts and indexes of domestic and international
literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an
audience at the high school or undergraduate level. Its purpose is to aid in
keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in
biological research. Interface: CSA.
Coverage: 1989-present
- Biomedical
Reference Collection Basic
--designed for doctors, research scientist, students, clinical specialists
and managers, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a
variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles included in the
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition are indexed in MEDLINE
- Business
& Company ASAP
-- access to literature on all l business and management
topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as
information on Finance, Trade, New Technologies, Trends and more. Interface:
SearchBank
- Business
Source Premier
-- provides full text for over 1,320 scholarly business
journals and indexing/abstracting of over 2,000 journals covering
management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
- Cambridge
Scientific Abstract
--through its Internet Database Service (IDS), provides
multiple databases in the fields of biological and medical sciences, as well
as related links to web sites through CSA's Web Resources Database. See also
Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference Papers Index, Medline, Plant
Science and Toxline. Interface: CSA.
- CARL Uncover--Now
Ingenta
-- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes
nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million
article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is
available to IUP students, faculty, and staff. Interface: Web.
Coverage: 1988-present.
- Center for
Research Libraries
--an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges,
universities and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources
to users everywhere. Open to scholars and researchers, its outstanding
collections include more than five million volumes of research materials
rarely held in North American libraries. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
- CINAHL
-- database designed specifically to meet the informational
needs of nurses and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- College
Source Online
-- features over 12,100 College Catalogs in complete
cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and
professional schools. Note:
restricted to on-campus users.
- Conference
Papers Index
-- provides citations to papers and poster sessions
presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis
since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the
aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and
materials science. Records include complete ordering information to obtain
preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the
conference, together with title and author information needed to track the
specific papers. Interface: CSA Coverage:
1982-present.
- Community of
Science Funding Opportunities
-- A fully searchable database of more than 20,500 funding
opportunities for research, travel, conferences, seminars, scholarships,
curriculum development, training, postdoctoral awards, equipment, artistic
pursuits, and more. Searches may be by keyword, sponsor, deadline, or
several other options. Interface: Web. Coverage: current.
- Criminal
Justice Abstracts
--indexes major journals in criminology and related
disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports
from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an
informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is
provided.
- Current
Biography
full-text of biographies and obituaries on the more than
15,000 people that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940.
The articles are supplemented with recent citations from Biography Index.
Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1940-present.
- Davis
Bacon Wage Determination
--The Davis Bacon Wage Determination Database contains wage
determinations made by the U.S. Department of Labor under the mandate of the
Davis-Bacon Act and related legislation. The Department determines
prevailing wage rates for construction-related occupations in most counties
in the United States. Ask librarian to log you on.
- Dissertation
Abstracts International
-- comprehensive source of dissertation information, which
includes Comprehensive Dissertation Index, Dissertation Abstract
International (sections A, B, and C), Masters Abstracts International, and
American Doctoral Dissertation Abstracts. Interface: FirstSearch. Coverage:
1861- present (abstracts from 1980-present).
- E*Subscribe
-- online access to ERIC documents (most available in PDF
files from IUP database E*Subscribe (1996-present), or for documents before
1996 check Pilot
Online Catalog for microfiche collection by submitting the ED
number). These documents can be accessed by searching the E*Subscribe site
at the above link or by searching the ERIC database and clicking on the link
EDRS DOCUMENT.
- EBSCO
Animals
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating
to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text
records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Click here
for more
info
- EBSCO
Online Citations
--provides access to electronic journals and full text of
articles for those journals managed through EBSCO Online, as well as usage
of Online Links in EBSCOhost.
- EBSCOhost
-- EBSCO Information Services provides multiple databases
from EBSCO Publishing via EBSCOhost. Databases include Academic Search ,
Business Source Premier, Newspaper Source, Health Source Plus, Comprehensive
Medline, Clinical Reference Systems, USP DI, The Serials Directory and EBSCO
Online Citations. See these titles for individual descriptions.
- EconLit
--indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic
journals. Its source material includes journal articles, essays, research
papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database
contains more than 350,00 records covering 1969-present. EBSCOhost.
- Education
Full Text
-- indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in
length from more than 400 English-language periodicals and yearbooks
published in the US and elsewhere as well as English-language books
published since 1995. Interface: WebSpirs.
- Emerald
--full-text access to peer reviewed journals in the areas of
Business and Management, Health and Environment, Library and Information
Management, Training and Education, Material Science and Technology.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Online
--Encyclopedia Britannica is the world's
most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its
first publication in 1768.Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete
encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and
Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the
Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet
directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated,
and reviewed by Britannica editors.
- Environmental
Knowledgebase
-- is the online version of Environmental Periodicals
Bibliography produced and published by the International Academy at Santa
Barbara.
- ERIC
(Webspirs)
--a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education
(RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved
from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers (most available in PDF files from
IUP database E*Subscribe, or see microfiche by submitting the ED number).
Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal
titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine
local availability. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1966-present.
- ERIC
(EBSCO)
--a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education
(RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved
from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers (most available in PDF files from
IUP database E*Subscribe, or see microfiche by submitting the ED number).
Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles assigned EJ numbers. Journal
titles must be checked against the Library's periodical holdings determine
local availability. Interface: EBSCOhost..
Coverage: 1966-present.
- EssayGenLit
-- Find contents
in collected works focusing on humanities and social sciences
Interface: OCLC
FirstSearch.
- Expanded
Academic Index
-- From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science
and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic
disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full
text and images! Interface: SearchBank
- Funk
& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by
subject or keywords within the entry. Click here for more
info
- Gale
Literary Index
-- A free online index to forty of Gale's printed
sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and
critical essays on their writings. The entries include location
information only; not textual information is available.
- GeoRef
-- American Geological Institute's database containing over
1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the
world since 1933. It is equivalent to Bibliography of North American
Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America,
Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional
items come from special bibliographies. Interface: EBSCOhost..
Coverage: 1785-present.
- Government
Catalog
-- Most comprehensive catalog index to U.S. Federal
government publications. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1976-present.
- GPO
Access
-- GPO Access. Government Printing Office's One Stop Source
for Official Government Information. Web access.
- Health
Reference Center
--access to articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine,
Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety,
Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material
contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Interface: SearchBank
- Health
Source: Nursing Academic Edition
-- provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over
1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. This database is
updated daily. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: 1984 (full text 1990)-present.
- Historical
Abstracts
-- A reference guide to the history of the world from 1450
to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in
America: History and Life). Contains over half a million entries with
annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the
former Yugoslavia, and much more.
- InfoTrac
-- also referred to as "SearchBank", includes
Expanded Academic Index, Business & Company ASAP, and Health Reference
Center Databases.
- Ingenta
(CARL Uncover)
-- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes
nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million
article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is
available to IUP students, faculty, and staff. Interface: Web.
Coverage: 1988-present.
- JSTOR
-- Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American
Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education,
Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science,
Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed
specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent
2-5 years of each title.
- Kraus
Curriculum Development Library(kcdlonline)
-- searchable database of curricula that brings
together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and
evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic
Education.
- Lexis-Nexis
/ Academic Universe
-- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your
specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS.
-
Literary Index (Gale
)
-- A free online index to forty of Gale's printed
sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and
critical essays on their writings. The entries include location
information only; not textual information is available.
- MLA
Bibliography
-- index produced by the Modern Language Association
consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over
3,000 journals and series. Also covered are relevant monographs, working
papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.
Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: 1963-present.
- MLA
Directory of Periodicals
--The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the
Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the
areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered
regularly in the MLA International Bibliography with addresses, advertising
rates, and information about submissions for publication. Webspirs.
- Marcive
WebDocs
-- database corresponding to the printed Monthly Catalog
which contains approximately 50 percent of the published government
documents (others being classified or for in-house use only). Citations from
the annual Periodicals Supplement and the US Congressional Serial Set
Supplement are also included. Interface: Web. Coverage: 1976-present.
- MAS
Ultra - School Edition
Provides full text for over 460 general interest and current
events magazines. Click here for a complete
title list. Click here for more
info
- Medline
(Comprehensive Medline)
-- National Library of Medicine's database which combines
the paper indexes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to
Dental Literature. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: 1966-present.
- Medline
(from CSA)
-- National Library of Medicine's database which combines
the paper indexes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to
Dental Literature. Interface: CSA.
- MedScape
-- For health professionals and interested consumers,
features peer-reviewed articles, "zoomable" color graphics,
self-assessment features, medical news, Medline Reviews, and annotated links
to Internet resources. Interface: Web.
- Mental
Measurements Yearbook
-- database produced by the Buros Institute containing
full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized
tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude,
psychology, and related areas. Interface: WebSpirs. Coverage: Equivalent to
paper editions.
- Military
Library FullTEXT
Provides full text for over 320 military
related periodicals and general interest magazines. Click here for a complete
title list. Click here for more
info
- Multimedia
Aids
-- Sources for free and almost free
photos, graphics, clipart, and animations.
- Music
Index Online
-- covers more than 640 international music periodicals;
includes musicological and organological topics, plus book reviews, record
reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Coverage: 1979-present.
Note: restricted to on-campus users.
- NASW
Clinical Register
--"NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers,"11th
Edition, provides a listing of clinical social workers
who have met national standards for education and experience
established by the NASW Competence
Certification Commission on recommendation of the Committee
on Clinical Social Work. Silverplatter.
- NCJRS
-- database of the US Department of Justice, abstracting
more than 145,000 criminal justice publications. Literature covered includes
US federal, state, and local governments' documents, books, journals,
unpublished research reports, and program descriptions and evaluations. Many
of the documents are available in the Library on microfiche. Interface:
CD-ROM. Coverage: 1970s-present.
- Netlibrary
--collection of electronic monographs
- NewsBank
- NewsBank
NewsFile Collection (1991-Current)
- News articles covering social, economic,
environmental, government, sports, the arts, people, health and science
issues and events from more than 500 U.S. regional and national
newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts.
This product has a Source
List
- Newspaper
Source
-- provides selected full text articles from 143 US and
international newspapers. This database is updated daily. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: 1990-present.
- Philosopher's
Index
--provides indexing and abstracts from
books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Webspirs.
- Plant
Science
Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing
citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing
on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis,
biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental Biology.
It is the online equivalent to Current Advances in Plant Science.
Interface: CSA. Coverage: 1994-present.
- Project MUSE
-- provides full-text online scholarly journals from
academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history,
the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political
science, gender studies, and many others. Currently
available on-campus only.
- PsycInfo
-- American Psychological Association database containing
summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports,
as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related
disciplines. It covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Interface:
EBSCOhost. Coverage: 1887-present (1987-present for chapter and book
coverage).
- PubMed
-- PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for
Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM),
located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It has been developed in
conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for
accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web
sites of participating publishers. Interface: Web
- PubScience
-- A service developed by the Department of Energy's (DOE)
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to facilitate
searching and accessing peer reviewed journal literature in the physical
sciences and other energy-related disciplines. Interface: Web.
- Regional
Business News
--A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all
over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa
News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South
American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire,
Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business
Information Highlights. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- SearchBank
-- includes Expanded Academic Index, Business & Company
ASAP, and Health Reference Center databases. Interface: SearchBank.
- Serials
Directory
-- provides up-to-date bibliographic information and pricing
for over 155,000 US and international periodicals. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Coverage: Current.
- Service
Contract Act Wage Determination Database
-- The Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database (SCA)
contains unsigned copies of the latest wage determinations developed by the
U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL). These wage determinations, issued by the
Wage and Hour Division in response to specific notices filed, set the
minimum wage on federally funded service contracts. For in-library use only!
Please ask a reference librarian to log you on!
- Social
Work Abstracts
--database, produced by the National Association of Social
Workers, Inc., contains more than 35,000 records, spanning , from social
work and other related journals. 1977 to the present. Silverplatter.
- Sociological
Abstracts
-- databases covering sociology and related disciplines by
including bibliographic citations, abstracts and enhanced dissertation
citations. It covers approximately 2500 journals in 30 languages from 55
countries. Interface: EBSCO.
- STAT-USA
-- site providing access to current trade-related
information produced by the many agencies of the federal government active
in promoting U.S. exports. Made available courtesy of the Federal Depository
Library Program. Interface: Web. Coverage: Current.
- Statistical
Universe
-- world's most comprehensive access to statistical
information, allowing users to search summaries of statistical publications
then link to the full text of selected publications on Statistical Universe
or government Web sites. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.
- TOC
Premier
--provides table of contents information for over 23,000 of the most
recently published journals. Types of journals range from business to
scientific, technical and medical as well as general interest. This database
contains over 18 million citation records, dating back to 1995. This
database is updated daily on EBSCOhost
- Toxline
-- rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology,
including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental
pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides
bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs,
technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the
database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity
Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of
TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS,
or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a
"rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5
years plus the current year. Interface: CSA.
Coverage: last five years plus current year.
- USP
DI Volume II, Advice for the Patient
-- provides patient-oriented drug information in lay
language such as proper use of medications, precautions, and side effects.
Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: Current.
- WebMedLit
-- WebMedLit is a web-based alert service which provides
citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from premier medical websites
and medical journals. Provided by SilverPlatter. Interface: Web. Coverage:
1999-present.
- WorldCat
-- OCLC's Online Union Catalog, which includes all records
cataloged by the OCLC member libraries. Included are records for materials
in many formats including books, journals, maps, newspaper, and manuscripts,
in over 400 languages. Interface: FirstSearch. Coverage: some materials are
as old as 1000 B.C., through the present. Updated daily.
Offsite access to most databases in this list is
possible through the use of 16-digit library ID (I-Card)
Number. Enter it when prompted to do so.
Authentication for most databases above is not required if you are a participant
in the IUP/Stargate
Agreement package.
Significant content provided by Sandra
Janicki.
Maintained by Portia Diaz-Martin, please send comments on this site and its
contents to portia@iup.edu.
Last modified:
05/06/2008