A-Z Index | Apply Now | Support IUP | News and Events | Find People |
IUP Logo

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Home > Academics > Libraries > All Databases (Alphabetical)


Indexes & Databases Alphabetical Listing


Not sure which database to use? IUP Databases by Subject


Connect to:
| InfoTrac | EBSCOhost | WilsonWeb | Academic Universe |
Jump down to: | IUP E-Journal Portal | 360 Search | Books not in IUP Libraries | Remote User | Citing Electronic Sources | Having Trouble Logging In? | VPN Change Instructions or Watch the How to Fix VPN Video Instructions | Patron Validation | EndNote Web| Citation Guide | Online Catalogs of nearby libraries | Trial_Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 

A

B


  C

  • Congressional Universe - Lexis-Nexis
    The most comprehensive resource of its kind.  You can explore government in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research. It also allows in-depth research with access to the full-text of more than 211 years worth of detailed information about Congress, including member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Lexis-NexisLicensed with Student Technology Fee Fund   Access link to Congressional Record Online (v. 140- ;1994-Present.


 
D


  E


 
F

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. Click here for more info



G


 
H

  I

 


 
J



K


 
L

M  

 


 
N


 
O

  
 
P

  • Physical Review Journals Online  ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN
    --
    Titles in this database include:
         Physical Reviews A, B, C, D, & E
         Physical Review Letters
         Physical Review Index
         Review of Modern Physics
         Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

     
  • PILOTS --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    --
    This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
     
  • Pittsburgh Courier - ProQuest
    Historical Pittsburgh Courier --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    --
    Historical Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002.  As one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s.  A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. this collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Licensed with Performance Funds
     
  • Plant Science
    Plant Science --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    -
    -Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental Biology. It is the online equivalent to Current Advances in Plant Science. Coverage: 1994-present. It is a subset of ProQuest's Biological Science Collection.
     
  • Poiesis ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN
    -
    -POIESIS [Philosophy Online Serials] is a subscription based reference and publishing service offering searchable access to the full text of hundreds of current, recent, and back issues of a growing number of philosophy journals and series. IUP's subscription allows users to search the entire database for any word or combination of words, and to view up to a paragraph of text around each "hit." If IUP has a print or electronic subscription to such a journal, POIESIS allows our users to click on the paragraph display and jump to the full text display of that journal.  Other articles of interest can be requested via interlibrary loan.
     


R

  • RCLweb [Resources for College Libraries]
    --
    A direct successor to 1988’s Books for College Libraries (BCL3), RCLWeb [Resources for College Libraries] is the online version of this resource. It offers a core collection of hand-selected titles in 58 curriculum-specific subject areas.  RCLweb, is brought to you by ACRL's Choice and Bowker. Titles have been selected for your academic library by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.  Web.
     
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    --
    Wilson's Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for the database includes the years 1890 through 1982. WilsonWeb. Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds    
     
  • ReferenceUSA
    --
    ReferenceUSA is an Internet-based service from the Library Division of infoUSA. This database contains detailed information on more than 14 million US businesses and  over 210 million residences.  This service is provided by the IUP Office of Career Services through ESF funds.
     
  • Regional Business News
    --a full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world. Included in this database are A&G Information, Africa News Service, Inter Press Service, Resource News International, South American Business, M2 Communications, PR Newswire, Business News Wire, Canadian Corporate News, News Bytes News Network and Phillips Business Information Highlights. This database is updated on a daily basis.
     
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection
    --a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for journals in the database.  It is a subset of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Communication and Mass Media Complete. EBSCOhost.
     
  • RILM EBSCOhost
  • RILM  Proquest
    -- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines. Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages. Interface: EBSCOhost. Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

S

  • Sage Premier
    --  SAGE’s electronic journal package represents one of the largest collections in the social sciences and now includes an extensive STM list as well. This collection includes access to approximately 440 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals, that is over140,564 Articles on one single platform.  This collection includes perpetual access to journal content published by SAGE during the term of the Agreement along with backfile access to 1999.  All SAGE journal content is peer-reviewed. SAGE participates in Portico, LOCKKS, CLOCKSS and the Dutch National Library archiving initiatives.  Coverage: 1999- present.Licensed with Performance Funds
     
  • Science Citation Index
    -- The Science Citation Index provides an index to the journal literature of the this discipline. This database indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Please follow this link for more information about Web Of Science.  IUP provides coverage for the Science Citation Index from 1975-Present. Licensed with Performance Funds  
     
  • ScienceDirect
    --  ScienceDirect offers one of the world's most advanced web delivery systems for scientific, technical and medical information in addition to other research disciplines.
    IUP Libraries is making available our subscribed Elsevier titles (81) in addition to 700+  other titles made available through a consortial agreement with Palinet through the  ScienceDirect platform.   The coverage for these titles begins in January 2004  and continues to the present.  We also have complete access to all Elsevier journal titles (abstracts only) through the ScienceDirect interface.  Subscribed content (824 titles) is indicated by a green key or page icon.  Unsubscribed content (a white key or page icon) can be ordered through InterLibrary Loan [ILLIAD].Licensed with Graduate Funds   

  • Serials Directory
    -- provides up-to-date bibliographic information and pricing for over 155,000 US and international periodicals. Interface: EBSCOhost. Coverage: Current.
     
  • Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database
    -- The Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database (SCA) contains unsigned copies of the latest wage determinations developed by the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL). These wage determinations, issued by the Wage and Hour Division in response to specific notices filed, set the minimum wage on federally funded service contracts. For in-library use only! Please ask a reference librarian to log you on!
     
  • Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) --Web of Science
    --
    The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines include Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology, Urban Studies and Women's Studies among others.  Complete coverage is 1956-Present. Licensed with Performance Funds 

    Social Sciences Full Text
    --
    Wilson's Social Sciences Full Text is the most comprehensive resource available in its field. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines with indexing from 1983 forward and full text from 1994. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.  Topics includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences  journals.   Interface: WilsonWeb.Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds  
     
  • Social Services Abstracts --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    --
    This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
     
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    --SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers. EBSCOhost.
     
  • Sociological Abstracts --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    --
    This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
     
  • Sociological Collection
    --a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 525 journals in the collection.  It is a subset of Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Communication and Mass Media Complete. EBSCOhost.
     
  • Something About the Author Online  
     --
    the Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.  It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series v.200, 2009 to present.Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library.
     
  • SportDiscus with Full Text
    -- the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.   EBSCOhost. Licensed with Performance Funds
     
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
    --was developed to help you maximize your research efforts in today's fast moving investment market. It accomplishes this by providing a suite of advanced search engines that allow you to quickly locate critical information and capture it as either printed copy or electronic files. Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds
     
  • Standard Federal Tax Reporter -- OmniTax School Library
    -- Electronic version of CCH looseleaf services [including Standard Federal Tax Reporter]. Includes the CCH Federal Tax Service, IRS letter rulings, state tax reporters, and current news. Access is via IP authentication and requires IUP email address for access.  Limited to 35 simultaneous users.  Interface: Web. Coverage: variable
     
  • Statistical Universe
    -- world's most comprehensive access to statistical information, allowing users to search summaries of statistical publications then link to the full text of selected publications on Statistical Universe or government Web sites. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS. Coverage: 1978-present.

T

  • Teacher Reference Center
    - Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.  EBSCOhost
     
  • Tests in Print
    -- Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. NOW PART OF MENTAL MEASUREMENTS YEARBOOK.  TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).   EBSCOhost.
     
  • Times Digital Archive 1785 - 1985  
    -- Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
    Coverage: 1785-1985 
    Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds
     
  • Toxicology Abstracts --  NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    --
    This database is the only comprehensive resource for professionals in this field and is specifically focused to meet the needs of toxicologists. The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.  It is a subset of ProQuest's Biological Science Collection.
     
  • Toxline
    Toxline-- NEW ProQuest INTERFACE!
    -- rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. Coverage 1999-Present. It is a subset of ProQuest's Biological Science Collection.

     
  • Twentieth Century African-American Poetry 
    -- A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey. Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds
     
  • Twentieth Century English Poetry 
    -- A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.  Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey. Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds
     
  • Twentieth Century North American Drama 
    -- This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.  More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of scholars and the playwrights themselves.  Licensed with Performance Funds
     

U



V


 
W


 
Z


Offsite access to most databases on this list is possible through the use of the 16-digit library ID (I-Card) Number and his/her last name. Enter these items when prompted to do so.
Authentication for most databases above is not required if you are using the Virtual Private Network [VPN] campus option. 


Back to 
Top
Last modified: 11/02/2011 by janosko@iup.edu
Correspondence regarding this page should be sent to its maintainer, Joann Janosko <janosko@iup.edu>


    IUP: Indiana University of Pennsylvania

© 2008 Indiana University of Pennsylvania