|
Library Home
Administration/Info
Chat
Reference Service
Credited Courses
Departments
How Do I
Library Giving
Search The Web
What's New
Site Map
Feedback and Suggestions
 |
Trial Databases
The following online electronic database
products are offered for a limited time for trial and evaluation. Forward
comments to Collection Development Librarian
DynaMed
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=dynamed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool
created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for
use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for
nearly 3,000 topics. Available though the EBSCOHost platform, it is IP
authenticated.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This trial will be available until November
9, 2008.
Nursing Reference Center
Nursing Reference Center™ is a
comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources
to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care.
This database offers staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students,
nurse faculty and hospital librarians the best available and most recent
clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents. Nursing Reference
Center provides in-depth content from top publishers covering areas
including conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug
information, continuing education, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice
guidelines, and much more. Available though the EBSCOHost platform, it
is IP authenticated.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This trial will be available until November
9, 2008.
Textile Technology Complete
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=teh
Textile Technology Complete is designed to
serve academic institutions and libraries by providing extensive coverage of
the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing.
This collection contains over 400 periodical titles, and thousands of titles
drawn from books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade
literature. Journals cover the major resources from the scientific community
as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This
trial will be available until November
23, 2008.
Credo Reference
http://www.credoreference.com
Credo Reference is a leading provider of
reference services for libraries and information centers. There are over
270 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries all
interconnected by over 100,000,000 links. Partnering with many of the
world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with
the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference
material. This trial database is IP authenticated.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This
trial will be available until October
20th, 2008.
SimplyMap
http://simplymap.com/index.php
SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping
application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and
reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data
variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to
use, but we have designed SimplyMap to be incredibly user friendly - most
users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training. There is some
training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, so
it is highly recommend that users watch a 6 minute training video to
get the most out of SimplyMap. The training video can be accessed by clicking
on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyMap. The following two
documents will help introduce users to this database:
SimplyMap Quick
Reference Card and
SimplyMap Getting
Started Guide. This database is IP authenticated for 5 concurrent
users.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This
trial will be available until November
7th, 2008.
Synthesis Digital Library of
Computer Science
http://www.morganclaypool.com/page/csc
Morgan & Claypool's
Synthesis Digital Library of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.
The subject of this collection is Computer & Information Science. The
content is not available elsewhere and is cutting edge and
authoritative.The topics covered are: Artificial Intelligence,
Communication Networks, Architecture, Graphics, Human Language
Technologies, Information Security, Mobile Computing, and Quantum
Computing. The range of content level in Synthesis is intended to be
fairly broad, from state-of-the-art research overviews to presentations
appropriate for undergraduates or professionals seeking a review. During
the trial period you are free to view, print and download whatever you
would like without restriction.
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY or
VPN
This trial will be available until October
31th, 2008.
For comments on this page please contact
Joann Janosko.
Last Updated:
10/06/2008 by
janosko@iup.edu
|