|
|
Starting Points for English 202
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias provide useful introductions to subject areas and often offer
selective
bibliographic leads. Consult those behind the Reference Desk in the
first floor Reference
Area, in the Reference Collection, or the
electronic Encyclopedia
Britannica Online, or Funk
&
Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia ( go to EBSCOhost
and choose from title listing), or try
other reference
materials available from the
Internet Public
Library . Online Search Techniques
Whether you are searching the online catalog, periodical databases, or the
Internet, online searching
techniques can help you do your search more
efficiently. Try the following sites for information on
online search
techniques.
Monographs
The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatment
of
many subjects. Use
PILOT, our
online catalog to find books in our collection as well
as links to the full-text
of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on
the Internet.
To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania Libraries and to borrow from them
directly, choose Books and More, and
PALCI from our web page. (To borrow items,
log in using your 16-digit I-card
number.)
General Online Sources of Full-text
Scholarly and Popular Magazines
and Newspapers
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely
treatment
of many issues. IUP patrons can access large collections of such
information through
the following services. (To gain access at home to the first
two, use your 16 digit
I-card number.)
- Ebsco
Host--access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and
newspapers, the bibliographic references to thousands more, and links to
Internet
sites and information on local holdings of periodicals.
- Infotrac/Searchbank--
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals
and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
- Academic
Universe- full-text database includes the last twenty years of local,
national, and international newspapers and many other useful sources.
Specialized Indexes
Though large general databases offering full-text are easy to use, sometimes the
source of the most scholarly and most relevant information is a specialized
index. You also
may wish to look at the complete list of these under Articles
and More, and Databases
on
our web page. Here are some examples:
- America:
History & Life -- a complete bibliographic reference to the history
of the
United States and Canada.
- ERIC
-- most comprehensive index to educational literature available offers
access
to citations and abstracts of educational periodicals and reports.
- PsycInfo
-- American Psychological Association database containing summaries of
journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as
citations to
dissertations in the field of psychology and related
disciplines.
Internet Sources
Search engines and subject directories provide access to the wide variety of
information
available on the Internet. Try the selection available at the Infopeople's
Best Search Tools.
For information on how to evaluate information
found on the Internet, try the following:
Style Guides
Bibliographic Management Software
-
WriteNote - web-based bibliographic management system allows users to
create bibliographic databases with notes and instantly create notes and
bibliographies within Microsoft word. Available on-campus or off-campus
with
VPN set-up.
Click here for users' manual.
- EndNote -- world's most popular
bibliographic software allows users to create
searchable bibliographic databases with notes, draw bibliographic
information
from online catalogs and periodical databases, and create within Microsoft
Word
instant bibliographic references and bibliographies in any style.
Students can
pick up copies of EndNote software with I-card at
IT Support Center
Suites on Grant - Lower, Suite G35
Phone: 724-357-4000
Email: it-support-center@iup.edu
web site: www.iup.edu/itsupportcenter
Links to Online Library Services
Stapleton Library offers a range of electronic services such as Interlibrary
Loan
ordering, reference assistance, and suggestion submission from its web
page.
look under Library Services on our
web page, or take our
virtual tour.
Notable Web Pages
For assistance with research, come to the
reference desk or phone us at
724-357-3006.
|