Library Resources for Genealogy
The following resources are easily found in the library's on-line catalog by doing a subject search using the word genealogy. The result is at least 14 different headings that are divided by format (ex. dictionary, bibliography, handbook, etc.). The following are examples of the various resources. The internet has many others available. For advanced genealogical research, I would suggest using Internet Resources for Genealogy.
| Encyclopedias / Dictionaries |
Bibliographies / Indexes |
Guides / General Works |
Special Collections |
Internet Resources |
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Ancestry's Concise Genealogical Dictionary. - 1989
- R 929.1 H242a
- Encyclopedia of German American Genealogical Research .- 1976
- R 929.373 Sm53e
- Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups - 1980
- R 973.04 H261a -- Ask at Reference Desk.
Bibliographies and Indexes
- Family History: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. 1971
- R 016.016929 B464f
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index. - 8 volumes 1981-1995
- R 920. B52i2s
- A consolidated index to more than 450,000 biographical sketches in over 70 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.
Gudies and General Works
- Guide to Genealogical Records in the National Archives.
- 929.373 C682G
- A Guide to the Genealogy/Local History Section of the State Library of Pennsylvania. - 1986
- Document Collection - PE 136.26946g
- Burke's Royal Families of the World - 1977-
- R 929.709 Bb917u
- Finding Your Roots: How Every American Can Trace His Ancestors at Home and Abroad 1977.
- 929.1028 W527f
Special Collections
Located on the third floor of the library, Special Collections has available many items that would be beneificial to anyone researching residents of Pennsylvania.
- Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research in Pennsylvania, 1958.
- 929.3 H671
- Pennsylvania Line: A Research Guide to Pennsylvania Genealogy and Local History.
- 929.3748 P3844e3
- Genealogies of Pennsylvania Families, 1982.
- 929.2 G286e
- This is a three volume set that contains family history articles which have been excerpted from the Pennsylvania Genealogy Magazine published from 1895 through 1980.
- Manuscript Census Information on the Heads of Households in Pennsylvania -
- The Indexes are kept in Special Collections for Census years 1790 through 1850. The 1860 index is in the serials department. From 1870 to 1920 census information is available on microfilm. There are no indexes for these years.
By searching the WWW, using a search engine like Alta Vista that can be accessed off the Library's home page, and typing "Genealogy Resources" as the search terms, the following sites were discovered and browsed for their usefulness.
Genealogy sites on the Web are many and varied. They include information for the beginner and the professional researcher.
Beginners to Genealogy and Research should check out these two sites first.
- Treasure Maps - http://www.Firstct.com/fv/tmaps.html
- This site explains how to begin a research project in genealogy. How to fill out family group sheets, along with explainations for using the Federal Census and Family History Centers. Links to these sites are provided. A free monthly newsletter via e-mail is also available.
- National Genealogical Societies - Suggestions for Beginners - http://www.genealogy.org/~ngs/sugbeg.html
- The National Genealogy Society has been in existence since 1903. From its home page there are many links to information about the society as well as special reference materials available including links to other genealogy home pages.
Other noteworthy sites include the following:
- A Barrel of Genealogical Links - http://cpcug.org/user/jlacombe/mark.html
- This site includes links to 266 various genealogy related Web resources and home pages of use to researchers. It is updated frequently and includes links to the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, various Native American sites, Family Surname sites, along with excellent links for finding information on Civil War paticipants.
- Genealogy Resources on the Internet - http://pmgmac.micro.umn.edu/Genealogy.html
- This site contains over 100 links to genealogy resources divided by geographic location , genealogical societies, associations and databases, libraries and archives, on-line periodicals, and many more.
- Genealogical Toolbox - http://www.tbox.com/genealogy/overview.html
- The purpose of the Genealogy Toolbox is to give genealogists access to the many resources on the Internet that might aid their research. The toolbox is structured hierarchically under ten main categories with a focus on more area-specific and family/surname resources.
- Cindi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - http://www.oz.net/~cyndihow/sites.htm
- A collection of nearly 10,000 links that have been categorized and cross-referenced in more than 50 categories. It responds rapidly and is easy to use.
- American Ancestry - http://www.ancestry.com/
- This small but important resource includes records of early Americans, as well as a collection of marriage records.
LibWeb Connections: | Library Main Menu
| Catalog
| Databases
| Internet
| Website Map
|
I U P Connections
| IUP
| IUP CWIS
| Academic Affairs
| SSHE
|
URL=http://www.lib.iup.edu/instruction/guides/genealogy.html Filename: geneology.html