|
|
History
Monographic Sources
- The Libraries' book collection includes
works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use
PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/)
our online catalog to find books and government documents in our collection
and links to other valuable resources on the
Internet.
- To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania
Libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search
PALCI
and log in using your 16-digit
I-card number.)
-
WorldCat --search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles.
Books located through this database can
generally be acquired through
Interlibrary Loan.
E-Books
General Online Sources of Full-text Scholarly
and Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers
offer concise and timely treatment of many topics of
historical interest. IUP patrons can access large collections of such information through the journal
aggregators. (To gain access
from home, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
-
EBSCOhost--provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
-
Gale/Infotrac-provides
access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic
access to thousands more.
E-Journals
- Project MUSE --
provides more than 200 full-text online scholarly journals from academic
presses
covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual
and performing arts, cultural studies,
education, political science, gender
studies, and many others.
- JSTOR--
Online archives of over 125 journals in African-American Studies,
Anthropology, Asian Studies,
Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance,
History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science,
Population
Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for
archiving journals,
so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each
title.
Humanities Full Text --
Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and
numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines with indexing
from 1983 forward and
full text from 1995.
-
Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies
Searching for Specific Journal Titles
Historical Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals
Manuscripts and Archival, and other Primary Resources
-
Early American Fiction
1789–1875 --full
texts of the first editions of American novels and
short stories written before 1850
-
Black Thought and Culture --
monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and
interviews
written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.
-
In the First Person --In
the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published,
in-depth index of more than 3,350
collections of personal narratives in
English from around the world.
-
Women and Social Movements --
history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000
-
African-American Poetry 1760-1900
ON-CAMPUS
ONLY
or
VPN
-
History Resource Center--
History Reference Center
features cover-to-cover full text for more
than 750 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, including award
winning titles from many top publishers.
-
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825.
-
Indiana University
of Pennsylvania -- Special Collections and Archives
-
Stapleton
Library Guide to Microfilm Collections
-
National Union Catalog
of Manuscript Collections
-
Repostiories of Primary Sources
-
WorldCat
--limit search to Archival.
Electronic Indexes
-
America: History & Life
-- coverage of historical literature of the United
States and Canada
from prehistory to the present.
-
Historical
Abstracts--historical coverage of the world from 1450
to the present (excluding the
United States and Canada)
- Other online databases--many other
databases are available from the Library's webpage
under Databases.
United States Government
-
Congressional Universe most comprehensive online resource available for
Congressional
hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
Reference, Biographical and Literary Sources
-
History Resource Center --
full text
history reference database includes reference books, articles,
and video clips of historical events.
-
Biography Resource Center--
database of biographical information on nearly 220,000
people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines
and subject areas.
-
Literature Resource Center -- A
complete literature reference database rich
in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content offers information on
literary figures from all
time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry,
drama, history, journalism,
and more.
Pennsylvania History
- Bibliography of Pennsylvania History Special Collections
Z1329 .A5 1957
- Pennsylvania historical bibliography Special Collections Z1329 .A5
1957 Suppl.
- Explore Pa History -- award
winning web site offers links to primary sources, intriguing
essays, and lesson plans for teaching PA history.
Internet Sites can provide valuable primary and
secondary sources for the study of
History, but often lack scholarly editorial
review so should be used with caution. For a
list of search engines and subject
directories, try
Infopeople
Best Search Tools.
Locating Primary Sources:
Citing What You Have Found:
- Chicago
Citation Guide
- Easybib -- free online bibliography
maker.
- Endnote Software is available
free of charge with an I-Card from the IT Support Center at the Suites on
Grant Lower, Suite G35. 724-357-4000.
Questions
or comments concerning this page should be directed to Theresa
McDevitt.
Correspondence regarding
this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed
Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu>
.
Please see IUP's statement
regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on
09/04/07.
|