|

|
Guide to Nursing Resources
This guide is designed to help you locate and use nursing resources
available through Stapleton Library.
|

|
Health/Medical Databases
The following databases will help you find articles on health related topics.
Some of them include the full text of the articles, which can be read online,
printed, downloaded, or e-mailed. All will give the bibliographic citation
telling you in what journals the articles can be found. Check PILOT,
the library's online catalog, to determine which journals are held locally. For
articles from journals not held locally, you may use Interlibrary
Loan to request a copy of the article(s). Please note that some databases
are accessible only to the IUP community and may require you to enter your
16-digit I-Card number.
- CINAHL
(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
-- database designed specifically to meet the informational
needs of nurses and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- Comprehensive
MEDLINE with FullTEXT with MeSH
-- National Library of Medicine's database which combines
the paper indexes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to
Dental Literature. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- Health
Reference Center - Academic
-- Use this database to find articles on: Fitness,
Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health
& Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The
material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes
only. Interface: SearchBank
- Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
-- provides full text for over 255 health periodicals, over
1,065 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. This database is
updated daily. Interface: EBSCOhost.
- Medline
(from CSA)
-- Cambridge Scientifics' version of the National Library of
Medicine's database which combines the paper indexes Index Medicus,
International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature. Interface: CSA.
- MedScape
-- For health professionals and interested consumers,
features peer-reviewed articles, "zoom-able" color graphics,
self-assessment features, medical news, Medline Reviews, and annotated links
to Internet resources. Interface: Web.
- PubMed
-- PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for
Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM),
located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It has been developed in
conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for
accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at Web
sites of participating publishers. Interface: Web
- WebMedLit
-- WebMedLit is a web-based alert service which provides
citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from premier medical websites
and medical journals. Provided by SilverPlatter. Interface: Web.
Additional Databases
The following databases, although not primarily focused on health/medicine,
will also help you find articles related to nursing, healthcare, or medical
topics.
Academic
Search Premier
-- provides full text for nearly 3,200 journals a covering
academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, general
science, multi-cultural studies, education, and more. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Academic
Universe
-- provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal,
medical, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet
your specific research needs. Interface: LEXIS/NEXIS.
Ingenta
-- service that offers a periodicals database that indexes
nearly 18,000 multi-disciplinary titles and contains over eight million
article citations. CARL Uncover's Reveal, a current awareness service, is
available to IUP students, faculty, and staff. Interface: Web.
ERIC
-- a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education (RIE)
and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved from RIE
are documents assigned ED numbers (most available on microfiche and require
only the ED number to view). Items retrieved in CIJE are journal articles
assigned EJ numbers. Journal titles must be checked against the Library's
periodical holdings determine local availability. Interface: WebSpirs
& EBSCOhost.
Expanded Academic
ASAP
-- From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science
and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic
disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full
text and images! Interface: SearchBank
PsycInfo
-- American Psychological Association database containing
summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as
well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related
disciplines. It covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Interface: EBSCOhost.
Electronic Reference Sources
- MEDLINEplus Health
Information
--contains information on health topics, generic and
brand-name drug information, spelling and definitions of medical terms,
directories of doctors and healthcareproviders, consumer health information,
and more.
- Merck Manual - 17th
Edition
--The Merck Manual provides extensive coverage of the
medical field, focusing on diseases and disorders, including discussion of
treatments and drug uses and therapies.
- USP DI
Volume II, Advice for the Patient
-- provides patient-oriented drug information in lay
language such as proper use of medications, precautions, and side effects.
Interface: EBSCOhost.
Selected Nursing Reference Books
These books are available in Stapleton Library. Other books related to
Nursing or medical topics (both reference and circulating) can be found by using
PILOT, the online catalog.
- Gray's Anatomy, [REF] QM23.2 .G73 1985
- Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, [REF] RC46 .H333
1994
- Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Directory, [REF]
R121 .M89 1998
- Nursing Diagnosis and Intervention in Nursing Practice, [REF]
RT41 .C28 1984
- PDR Nurses Handbook, [REF] RM125 .P47 1999
- Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR), [REF] RS75 .P 1998
- Physicians' Desk Reference - Nonprescription Drugs, [REF] RM671
.A1 P48
- Wellness Encyclopedia, [REF] RA776 .W436 991
Internet Guides
Nursing Center.com
http://www.nursingcenter.com/
NursingNet
http://www.nursingnet.org/
Healthweb
http://healthweb.org/index.cfm
Nursing Sites on the World Wide Web
http://wings.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/hsl/internet/nsgsites.html
Virtual Nurse
http://www.virtualnurse.com
Nursing in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania League for Nursing
http://www.paleaguefornursing.org
Pennsylvania Nurses Association
http://www.psna.org
- Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/bpoa/nurbd/licensureinfo.htm
Government Agencies
- Health Resources and Services Administration Division of Nursing
http://www.bhpr.hrsa.gov/dn/dn.htm
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center Nursing Department Policies
http://www.cc.nih.gov/nursing/indexa.html
National Institute of Nursing Research
http://www.nih.gov/ninr
Pennsylvania Department of Public Health
http://www.health.state.pa.us
U.S. Public Health Service Nursing
http://www.hhs.gov/progorg/nursing/phsfr.htm
Associations
This list represents only a few of the associations related to nursing,
health, or medicine. You can find many more by following links provided, or by
using a web search engine such as Altavista
or Google, etc.
- American Association of Colleges of Nursing
- http://www.aacn.nche.edu
- American Hospital Association
- http://www.aha.org/index.asp
- American Nurses Association
- http://www.nursingworld.org
- American Public Health Association
- http://www.apha.org/
- National League for Nursing
- http://www.nln.org
|