IUP Seal

Indiana University of Pennsylvania
IUP Home
your-office

Library Home

Administration/Info

Chat Reference Service

Credited Courses

Departments

How Do I

Library Giving

Search The Web

What's New

Site Map

Feedback and Suggestions
 


Library Hours

Administration/Info

Chat Reference Service

Credited Courses

Departments

How Do I

Library Giving

Search The Web

What's New

Site Map

Feedback and Suggestions


Steps to Successful Research Papers

Choosing a topic--the first step to writing a research paper is deciding upon a topic. Keep the following points in mind:

  • Choose a topic that interests you. If none come to mind try the following sites for ideas
  • Choose one that is appropriate to the length of your assignment. Don't pick something too broad to be covered in a short paper or too narrow to be discussed in a longer paper.
  • Consider availability of resources. A topic too regional or recent might make it difficult to find an adequate variety of authoritative sources to properly investigate it.

Begin with general resources--Unless you are already quite familiar with your topic, reading an article in a general or specialized encyclopedia is a good way to begin research. It provides you with background information, suggests interesting questions  and problems related to the topic that you can investigate, and important terms that can be used as keywords to search under. A variety of encyclopedias are shelved behind the reference desk on the first floor of Stapleton Library, and the online  Encyclopedia Britannica  is also available. You can ask the reference librarian to help you find them, at the desk, by phone at 724-357-3006.

Limiting your topic--After reviewing general sources you should think more about your topic. It is a good idea to pose your topic as a question to be answered or a problem to be solved. If it seems too broad consider limiting it is some way such as to a particular time period, place, or group of individuals. Write a list of two to four terms related to your  topic which you think will be good keywords to use for searching.

Finding Specific Sources--Using the terms you have selected,  search for a variety of library and internet resources that provide information on your topic.  They should include:

  • Books --  Use PILOT (http://pilot.passhe.edu:8001/) our online catalog to find books and government documents  in our collection and links to other valuable resources  on the Internet.
  • Journal articles -- Search full-text journal databases such as EBSCOhost or  InfoTrac to find the full-text of journal articles.

Document your sources--good research is based upon reviewing the writing of others, but it is essential to acknowledge those sources both to add authority to your work and to give  credit to other authors. Style guides are available for various disciplines to cite such sources appropriately and include MLA, APA , and guides to Citing Online Sources.

Remember that the librarians can help you at any step in the research process. These trained information professionals can be found at the Reference Desk  at Stapleton Library most hours the library is opened, and can be contacted by phone 724-357-3006 or by email or chat.


Correspondence regarding this page should be sent to T.R. McDevitt.  Correspondence concerning this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu> . Please see IUP's statement regarding pages that do not officially represent the university. Revised on 03/24/08.